1892, Colporteur Arnold Visits Tobago

Review and Herald, August 30, 1892, page 5

FROM ROBINSON CRUSOE’S ISLAND.

I FIRST landed at Tobago in April, and took about one hundred and sixty orders for books, and now I have returned to attend to delivering them. This island is at present under the same government as that of Trinidad, and is only one night’s sail from that place, by Royal Mail. Tobago is twenty-two miles long, eight miles broad, and is of volcanic formation, with a range of hills twenty miles long, rising to a hight of 1,800 feet. Since the decline in sugar, Tobago has not been in a prosperous condition, and I feel very well satisfied with even 160 orders. In Trinidad you will find large, well-cultivated estates, a railroad, telegraph, and street-car lines, but none of these are to be seen on Tobago. Carriage roads are very few here, and as a consequence, every one rides, and ladies go to parties, and even to church, in the saddle.

The early history of Tobago is a varied one, having been owned by the Spanish, Dutch, and French. I climbed up to the old Fort George, and sold books to the officers there. Perhaps two miles away could be seen the old earthworks where the French intrenched themselves on the top of a high hill, and took Fort George; but shortly after, the English fleet appeared, and the French were driven off the island, so that since 1814 Tobago has been an undisputed English colony.

A few miles away is “Robinson Crusoe’s cave,” which I should visit if business took me that way. As it is, I shall be content with a few curios from Robinson Crusoe’s Island.

The largest congregation here is that of the Moravians. I have sold some books to them and to their ministers, and, in fact, to all the ministers in the island. I have been working under difficulties for the last few months, as we have had the most rain this season of any in twenty years. This makes the rivers dangerous to ford, but when on foot, the man who carries my books carries me over the stream also.

In regard to my work thus far, I can report 2,000 books delivered in 18 1/2 months from the time I left Battle Creek, and a surplus of about five hundred and fifty orders besides. I had hoped to deliver that number by May 1, 1893, but I shall probably deliver 3,000 by that time.

W. ARNOLD.
Scarborough, Tobago, July 10.

http://www.adventistarchives.org/docs/RH/RH18920830-V69-35/index.djvu?djvuopts&p age=5
_____________________________________

Observations:

Arnold applies his comparative analysis skills. He effectively contrasts Trinidad and Tobago.

Of the 3000 orders, did anyone accept the Adventist message as a result?

Tags: , ,

Leave a Reply

